People
Alagona picture Peter Alagona
Professor & Director of IPEES

Environmental History, Wildlife and Endangered Species

Bren 4013
alagona@es.ucsb.edu
Jason Benedict Jason J Benedict
Assistant Research Specialist

Geographical Information Systems (GIS), Remote sensing, Data Analysis & Visualization 

Bren 4024
jbenedict@es.ucsb.edu
Daniel B. Botkin Daniel Botkin
Emeritus Professor

Environmental biology and global ecology

David Brokensha David Brokensha
Emeritus Professor
Mike Brown Michael Brown
Lecturer

Sustainability Strategy, Goals, and Metrics, Technical Evaluation of Materials and Products, Program Development, and Sustainability Data Development

Bren Hall 4006
michaelsbrown@ucsb.edu
Ian Carrillo Ian Carrillo
NSF Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Environmental Sociology, Race and ethnicity, Economic sociology, Environmental justice, Comparative–Historical, Work and Organizations, Ethnography, Inequali

Bren 4026
icarrillo@es.ucsb.edu
Liz_Carlisle_Photo Liz Carlisle
Associate Professor

Agroecology and Sustainable Food Systems, Regenerative and Organic Agriculture, Food and Agricultural Policy

Bren 4015
carlisle@es.ucsb.edu
Oliver Chadwick Oliver Chadwick
Emeritus Professor

Soil Sciences, Soil Genesis and Classification, and Advanced Pedology and Geomorphology

oac@geog.ucsb.edu
Jordan Clark Jordan Clark
Professor

Geochemistry, Hydrologic Sciences, Tracer Hydrology and Environmental Geology

Webb Hall 2115
jfclark@geol.ucsb.edu
David A. Cleveland David Cleveland
Emeritus Professor

Sustainable, Small-scale Agrifood Systems, Plant Breeding, Local and Scientific Knowledge, Climate Change, Nutrition, and Food Sovereignty

Bren 4019
cleveland@es.ucsb.edu
Madison Conrad Photo Madison Conrad
Student Office Assistant

DSP Requests, Textbook Organization, ESCI Administration, Mail Distribution, General Clerical Duties, Marketing Projects

es-workstudy@ucsb.edu
Thea Cremers Thea Cremers
Continuing Lecturer

Gender and the Environment, Anthropology, Tourism, Environmental Justice and Human Environmental Rights

Bren 4009
mcremers@att.net
Carla D'Antonio Carla D'Antonio
Department Chair and Schuyler Professor

Plant ecology, restoration ecology, fire, ecosystems and people

Bren 4002
dantonio@es.ucsb.edu
Mona Damluji Mona Damluji
Assistant Professor
SSMS 2415
damluji@ucsb.edu
Robert T. Deacon Robert Deacon
Emeritus Professor

Environmental and Resource Economics and Public Economics

deacon@econ.ucsb.edu
Ranjit Deshmukh Ranjit Deshmukh
Assistant Professor

Energy systems and policy analysis; electricity sector planning, operations, and markets; geospatial analysis of energy resources; energy access in developin

Bren 4003
rdeshmukh@ucsb.edu
Joan Dundey Joan Dudney
Assistant Professor

Global change ecology, forest disturbance, climate change

dudney@ucsb.edu
Andrea Elickson Andrea Ellickson
Business Officer

Program Management and Budget, Merits & Promotions Case Manager, Systems and UC Path Approver, Faculty Committees, IT/Building Operations & Space Adm

Bren 4312-C
aellickson@ucsb.edu
Darby Feldwinn Darby Feldwinn
Lecturer with Security of Employment
Chem 1103
feldwinn@chem.ucsb.edu
Dan Fontaine Profile Picture Dan Fontaine
Lecturer

Environmental Education

danfontaine@ucsb.edu
John Foran John Foran
Professor
SSMS 3417
foran@soc.ucsb.edu
William Freudenburg William Freudenburg
Emeritus Professor & former Dehlsen Professor in Environmental Studies
Halley Froehlich Headshot Halley Froehlich
Assistant Professor

Marine Ecology, Aquaculture, Fisheries, Climate Change, Ecological Modeling, Data Science, Environmental Physiology and Behavior, So

Bren 4007
froehlich@es.ucsb.edu
Helene Gardner Helene Gardner
Emeritus (LSOE) - Lecturer with Security of Employment

Environmental Toxicology, Environmental Chemistry, Air Quality and Pollution

Bren 4017
hkgardner@es.ucsb.edu
Greg Graves Gregory Graves
Continuing Lecturer
graves@history.ucsb.edu
Summer Gray Summer Gray
Assistant Professor

Environment and Society, Infrastructure and Adaptation, Climate Justice Studies

Bren 4027
summer_gray@ucsb.edu
Garrett Hardin Garrett Hardin
Emeritus Professor
Robert Heilmayr Robert Heilmayr
Assistant Professor

Environmental Economics, Ecological Economics, Land Systems Science

Bren 4023
rheilmayr@es.ucsb.edu
Ken Hiltner Ken Hiltner
Professor
South Hall 2508
hiltner@english.ucsb.edu
Jeff Hoelle Jeffrey Hoelle
Associate Professor
HSSB 2073
hoelle@anth.ucsb.edu
Iris Holzer Photo Iris Holzer
Assistant Teaching Professor

Environmental Chemistry, Soil Science

Bren 4005
Yvette Howze headshot Yvette Howze
Financial Administrator

 Payroll & Kronos Administration: Readers, Student Assistants, and Limited Employees; Gateway Department Buyer, Flexcard Purchaser, UC Pat

Bren 4312
es-financial@es.ucsb.edu
Jeremy Jacobs Jeremy Jacobs
Lecturer

Journalism, Communications, Legal Issues

jjacobs9@gmail.com
Shithi Kamal-Heikman Shithi Kamal-Heikman
Lecturer

Physical Geography, Remote Sensing of the Environment, Snowmelt Modeling, Flood Hydrology, Rivers, Transboundary Water Sharing, Water Policy

shithi@es.ucsb.edu
Brandon Kayden Brandon Kaysen
Lecturer

Green Buildings, LEED 

bkaysen@ucsb.edu
Ed Keller Edward Keller
Emeritus Professor
Dan Klemann Profile Picture Dan Klemann
Lecturer

Environmental impact analysis; local and State land use and planning law; public administration; and political theory

dklemann@ucsb.edu
Charles Kolstad Charles Kolstad
Emeritus Professor
kolstad@bren.ucsb.edu
Linda Krop Linda Krop
Continuing Lecturer

Environmental Law, Environmental Policy and Litigation

Bren 4021
lkrop@cox.net
Manny Kundu Manny Kundu
Lecturer (Summer Sessions)

Anthropology, Global Environment and Population Studies

Bren 4006
mkundu@es.ucsb.edu
Bridget Lewin Bridget Lewin
Continuing Lecturer

Environmental Education, Learning Styles, and Instructional Methodologies

Bren 4006
lewin@es.ucsb.edu
Hugo A. Loaiciga Hugo Loaiciga
Professor
Ellison Hall 3626A
hloaiciga@ucsb.edu
Julie Maldonado Julie Maldonado
Lecturer

Climate Change and Adaptation; Migration, Displacement, and Resettlement; Disaster Recovery and Risk Reduction

Bren 4009
jkmaldonado@ucsb.edu
Mel Manalis Mel Manalis
Emeritus Professor
Jen Martin Jennifer Martin
(LSOE) - Lecturer with Security of Employment

Environmental History, Oceans, History of Science

Bren 4011
jennifermartin@es.ucsb.edu
Niki Mazaroli Profile Picture Niki Mazaroli
Lecturer

Food systems adaptation to climate change, food security, and the challenges facing small and subsistence agricultural producers

mazaroli@ucsb.edu
Doug McCauley Doug McCauley
Assistant Professor
MSRB 2314
douglas.mccauley@lifesci.ucsb.edu
Marc McGinnes Marc McGinnes
Emeritus
mcginnes@es.ucsb.edu
Matto Mildenberger Matto Mildenberger
Assistant Professor
Ellison Hall 3706
mildenberger@polsci.ucsb.edu
Michelle Moreno Ocean Photo Michelle Moreno
Academic Personnel Coordinator

TA/Associate appointment coordinator, UC Recruit Coordinator for Temp.

Bren 4311
es-ap@es.ucsb.edu
Steph Stephanie Moret
Continuing Lecturer

Land Use Impacts on Water Resources, Ecological Connectivity and Sustainable Systems

Bren 4033
smoret@es.ucsb.edu
Rod Nash Roderick Nash
Emeritus Professor
canyondancer@yahoo.com
Amanda Nichols photo Amanda M. Nichols
Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Intersectional environmentalism and religious studies , contributions of women to environment-related, or environment-focused, social movements, 

amnichols@ucsb.edu
David Pellow David Pellow
Dehlsen Professor

Environmental Justice Studies, Race and Ethnic Studies, Social Change, and Social Movements

Bren 4304
pellow@es.ucsb.edu
Debra  Perrone Headshot Debra Perrone
Associate Professor

Water Resources Engineering, Groundwater Science and Policy

Bren 4025
perrone@ucsb.edu
Simone Pulver Simone Pulver
Associate Professor

Business and the Environment; Global Environmental Politics; Socio-Environmental Systems; Environmental Sociology

Bren 4001
pulver@es.ucsb.edu
Lori Pye Lori Pye
Lecturer

Environmental Conservation, Environmental Ethics, and Ecopsychology

Olivia Quintanilla Olivia Quintanilla
Postdoctoral Research Fellow

critical island and oceanic studies, climate justice, marine-related environmental justice issues, and understanding how militarism impacts Indigenous life a

oquintan@ucsb.edu
Nathalie Quintero Nathalie Quintero
Program Coordinator

Environment and Society PhD Emphasis coordinator & advisor, Website & Visual Media Manager, Department Supplies & Course Materials Orde

Bren 4312
nathaliequintero@ucsb.edu
Wagner Quiros Wagner Quiros
Lecturer

Governance, Marine Conservation, Sea Turtle Research, Sustainable Fisheries, Community Base Conservation

wagnerqp@ucsb.edu
Tara Robinson Photo Tara Robinson
Academic Advisor

Conducts ES Academic Advising

Bren 4313
advising@es.ucsb.edu
Schimel Joshua Schimel
Professor, Associate Dean of MLPS

Terrestrial Ecosystem Ecology, Microbial Ecology, and Organismal Ecology

Noble Hall 1108, Noble Hall 1245 (Lab)
schimel@lifesci.ucsb.edu
Russell Schmitt Russell Schmitt
Professor
MSRB 3314
schmitt@lifesci.ucsb.edu
Arent H. "Barry" Schuyler Barry Schuyler
Emeritus Lecturer

Energy Policy

Katja Seltmann Katja Seltmann
Lecturer

Biocollections, Entomology and Hyemenopterology

seltmann@ccber.ucsb.edu
 Jo-Ann Shelton Jo-Ann Shelton
Emeritus Professor

Ethical Issues, Human-Animal Relationships

jshelton@classics.ucsb.edu
Sideris Lisa Sideris
Professor

Environmental Ethics, Religion and Nature, Environmental Humanities, Science and Religion

Bren 4029
lsideris@ucsb.edu
Eric R.A.N. Smith Eric R.A.N. Smith
Professor
smith@polsci.ucsb.edu
Daniela Soleri Daniela Soleri
Lecturer

Food Crop Diversity, Knowledge Systems in Agriculture, "Citizen" and Community Science/Participatory Research, and Food Gardens

Bren 4019
soleri@geog.ucsb.edu
Leah Stokes Leah Stokes
Assistant Professor
Ellison Hall 3716
stokes@polsci.ucsb.edu
David Stone David Stone
Senior Continuing Lecturer

Urban and Environmental Planning, Environmental Impact Statements, NEPA, and CEQA

Bren 4021
david.stone@ucsb.edu
Susan C. Stonich Susan Stonich
Professor Emeritus
stonich@anth.ucsb.edu
Vivian Stopple Vivian Stopple
Financial Analyst

Bren 4312
es-financial@es.ucsb.edu
Lisa Stratton Lisa Stratton
Lecturer

Ecological Restoration, Plant Physiology, Water Quality and Ecosystem Management

Harder South 1005
stratton@ccber.ucsb.edu
Claudia Tyler Claudia Tyler
Lecturer

Plant Ecology, Ecological Disturbance, and Grassland and Shrublands

Bren 4202
tyler@ucsb.edu
Paul Wack Paul Wack
Senior Continuing Lecturer
pwack@calpoly.edu
Greg Wahlert Greg Wahlert
Lecturer

Flora of California, Arctostaphylos (Ericaceae), Violaceae, Malvaceae, Flora of Madagascar

wahlert@ccber.ucsb.edu
Casey Walsh Casey Walsh
Professor
HSSB 2081
walsh@anth.ucsb.edu
Bob Wilkinson Bob Wilkinson
Senior Lecturer Emeritus
Bren 4426
wilkinson@bren.ucsb.edu
Williams Deborah Williams
Lecturer

Public Lands

 

Bren 4021
deborah1518@gmail.com
Grace Wu Grace Wu
Assistant Professor

Sustainable Land Use, Climate Change Mitigation, Renewable Energy Planning, Land Systems Science

Bren 4031
gracecwu@ucsb.edu
Eric Zimmerman Eric Zimmerman
Student Affairs Manager, Advisor, Lecturer

• Academic Advising
• Internship Program Director

Bren 4312-B
zimmerman@es.ucsb.edu